Belchen-Panorama-Route 112 Olten-Liestal

«No pain, no gain» is a popular saying that accurately describes this cycling tour. But it will be worth your while: the rewards for the countless climbs through the folds and plateaus of Baselland's Kettenjura and Tafeljura Mountains are the breathtaking views of the rich cultural landscape.  

Besides the beautiful landscape, many a song has been sung extolling the mountains and valleys (Bärg und Täli) of Baselland. The topography of the Belchen-Panorama-Route is quite demanding and certain to make you sweat. Those who prefer a more leisurely ride should take an e-bike. Once you get to the top of the Hauenstein pass after a short climb, you will soon have a panoramic view of the entire region of Basel, all the way to the French Vosges and the Black Forest. Along the folds of the Kettenjura Mountains – past impressive limestone formations and through lush forests – you will be treated to one panoramic view after another as you look out into the distance all the way to the Alps.

Riding uphill and down will make you hungry; good thing that the route is lined with rustic inns and farms that serve meals and snacks. Finally, those interested in cultural history will want to visit the quaint towns of Olten and Liestal, which will entice you to stay a while. 

Length | Number of stages
45 km | 1 Stage
Roads and trails
Asphalted: 39 km
Natural surface: 6 km
Ascents | Descents
1150 m | 1250 m
Fitness level
difficult

Belchen-Panorama-Route 112 Olten-Liestal

«Ohne Fleiss kein Preis» lautet ein bekanntes Sprichwort, das treffend zu dieser Velotour passt. Der Lohn für die zig Aufstiege durch den Baselbieter Ketten- und Tafeljura ist denn auch nicht knapp: ungeahnte Aussichten inmitten einer reichen Kulturlandschaft ziehen einen in den Bann.

Im Baselbieterlied wird neben der schönen Landschaft auch «Bärg und Täli» besungen. Tatsächlich ist die Topografie der Belchen-Panorama-Route anspruchsvoll und recht schweisstreibend. Wer es lieber gemütlich mag, steigt darum lieber auf ein E-Bike um. Nach kurzem Anstieg auf der Passhöhe von Hauenstein angekommen, bietet sich bald ein Weitblick über die ganze Region Basel bis hin zu den französischen Vogesen und dem Schwarzwald. Entlang des Kettenjuras – vorbei an imposanten Kalkstein-Felsformationen und durch üppige Wälder – reiht sich Panorama an Panorama und der Blick schweift in die Ferne bis zu den Alpen.

Das auf und ab macht auch hungrig und so ist es gut, dass die Strecke gesäumt ist mit urigen Gasthöfen und Verpflegungsangeboten von Bauernhöfen. Schliesslich sind die schmucken mittelalterlichen Städtchen Olten und Liestal kulturhistorisch sehr interessant und laden zum Verweilen ein. 

Länge | Anzahl Etappen
45 km | 1 Etappe
Strassen und Wege
Asphalt: 39 km
Naturbelag: 6 km
Aufstiege | Abstiege
1150 m | 1250 m
Kondition
schwer

Weitere Informationen