Ruine Homburg

The impressive ruined castle of Homburg, situated between Läufelfingen and Buckten, is open to visitors and comprises several building elements. The large defence tower is three storeys high and gives an idea of the once imposing site.  

The Homburg ruin lies on the footpath/railway between Läufelingen and Buckten. It makes for a great place to visit. In 1240, Count Hermann von Froburg had the castle built to oversee traffic going through the Lower Hauenstein Pass, and he called it New Homberg. After a turbulent history, including a hundred years as the office of the bailiff, its fate was sealed in 1798 by peasants, who besieged it and burnt it down.
Between 2008 and 2010, the canton of Basel-Landschaft took on the renovation of the Homburg ruin in order to make it safe again for visitors. The residential tower, the oldest part of the site, has been restored to its original size.It is a great place to visit with children, and there are various barbecue facilities available. The footpath from Läufelfingen to the Homburg ruin has been turned into a themed trail as stories about the lives of the heroes of the Middle Ages are told in an entertaining manner via ten information panels

auf Google Maps anzeigen

Ruine Homburg

4448 Läufelfingen

Ruine Homburg

Die eindrückliche Ruine Homburg, zwischen Läufelfingen und Buckten gelegen, ist offen zugänglich und besteht aus mehreren Gebäudeteilen. Der grosse Wehrturm ist dreistöckig und vermittelt ein Bild von der einstigen imposanten Anlage.

Die Ruine Homburg liegt am Wanderweg/ Bahnweg zwischen Läufelfingen und Buckten. Sie eignet sich bestens für einen Ausflug. Im Jahr 1240 liess Graf Hermann von Froburg die Burg zur Überwachung des Transitverkehrs am Unteren Hauenstein erbauen und nannte sie Neu-Homberg. Nach einer wechselvollen Geschichte, unter anderem jahrhundertelang als Landvogtssitz, besiegelten Bauern 1798 das Schicksal der Homburg, indem sie sie eroberten und niederbrannten.
2008-2010 unterzog der Kanton Basel-Landschaft die Ruine Homburg einer gründlichen Sanierung, um sie für Besucher wieder sicher zu machen. In voller Grösse ist heute noch der Wohnturm, der älteste Teil der Anlage, erhalten. Sie eignet sich gut als Ausflugsziel mit Kindern, diverse Grillplätze sind vorhanden. Der Wanderweg von Läufelfingen zur Ruine Homburg ist als Themenweg gestaltet. Zehn Infotafeln berichten auf unterhaltsame Weise vom Leben der Ritter im Mittelalter.

auf Google Maps anzeigen

Ruine Homburg

4448 Läufelfingen