Römerstrasse

 The Obere Hauenstein (Upper Hauenstein) is one of the oldest mountain passes in Switzerland. For the Romans it was part of the route from Aventicum to Augusta Raurica and was used by civilian and military traffic.  The ‘Roman road’ from Langenbruck was not actually built by the Romans but it is impressive, nevertheless.  

The imposing remains of this so-called ‘Roman road’ are well worth a visit. It takes about 10 minutes to get to the road, which is carved out of the cliff, via a sometimes steep but well-signposted path from the top of the Obere Hauenstein Pass.
‘Howenstein’ was first documented in 1145. However, the discovery—a good hundred years earlier—of a coin dating back to the time of the Emperor Hadrian on the cliff-hewn carriage track known as the ‘Roman road’ would suggest the pass is significantly younger than Roman. According to old sources, the cliffs were dug out in the 14th century, or thereabouts, to facilitate the passage of large carts—which is how the mountain came by its name (‘aushauen’ means ‘to dig out’). The ‘Hohle Gasse’ (hollow alleyway) by the Kräheck was, until the opening of a new routing in the mid-18th century, operated by a cable winch, which pulled the carts safely uphill.Today, a covered barbecue area is available close to the ‘Roman road’.

auf Google Maps anzeigen

Römerstrasse

4438 Langenbruck

Römerstrasse

Der Obere Hauenstein gehört zu den ältesten Passübergängen der Schweiz. Für die Römer war er Teil der Strasse von Aventicum nach Augusta Raurica und diente dem zivilen und militärischen Verkehr. Die „Römerstrasse“ von Langenbruck dürfte zwar nicht von Römern gebaut worden sein, aber eindrücklich ist sie trotzdem.

Eine Besichtigung der imposanten Reststücke der sogenannten „Römerstrasse“ lohnt sich. Du erreichst die in den Fels gehauene Strasse auf einem zum Teil steilen, aber gut beschilderten Weg von der Passhöhe des Oberen Hauensteins aus in etwa zehn Minuten.
Der «Howenstein» erscheint 1145 erstmals in Urkunden. Zwar fand man bei dem als „Römerstrasse“ bekannten, in den Fels gehauenen Karrenweg vor gut hundert Jahren eine Münze des römischen Kaisers Hadrian, dennoch dürfte der Hohlweg deutlich jünger sein. Nach alten Quellen wurden ungefähr im 14. Jahrhundert die Felsen ausgehauen, um die Durchfahrt grosser Wagen zu ermöglichen – so kam der Berg auch zu seinem Namen. Die „Hohle Gasse“ bei der Kräheck wurde bis zur Eröffnung einer neuen Streckenführung Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts mit einer Seilhaspel betrieben, welche die Wagen sicherte und bergauf zog.In der Nähe der „Römerstrasse“ befindet sich heute eine überdachte Grillstelle.

auf Google Maps anzeigen

Römerstrasse

4438 Langenbruck